OptQC's $47M from NTT buys a 10,000-qubit attempt, not a customer
NTT led a 7.0 billion yen Series A2 a month after the MoQuren demonstrator switched on. Workloads, access terms and pricing are still undisclosed.
The Engineer · Build desk

What happened
- OptQC closed a 7.0 billion yen ($47 million) Series A2 led by NTT to build the next generation of its room-temperature optical quantum computers.
- The round landed about a month after OptQC and AIST began operating MoQuren, the company's first commercial demonstration system, at the G-QuAT centre.
- The capital funds a successor processor of roughly 10,000 qubits and 100 times MoQuren's computational performance, plus hiring across six functions.
- Workloads, access routes, user counts, pricing, revenue, valuation, ownership and headcount are all undisclosed.
Why it matters
- exposure About three quarters of every equity yen OptQC has raised now sits behind a machine that does not exist yet, with no disclosed revenue line to absorb a miss.
- cost Roughly $72 million of the total OptQC cites came from outside its cap table, so public research money carries part of the bill for the next processor.
- constraint Without a price, a named user or a published result, the strongest thing the demonstrator can currently establish is that it keeps running, which is an availability argument rather than a...
- decision NTT's cheque turns a roadmap into payroll across six disciplines, fixing OptQC's burn rate well before anyone pays it for machine time.
The specification gap is the part worth reading closely. OptQC's published roadmap describes MoQuren as a 100-input quantum-analog demonstration machine operating at 100 MHz [11]. The successor is described as approximately 10,000 qubits at 100 times MoQuren's computational performance [3]. Multiply 100 inputs by 100 and you get 10,000 [23], which reads as a scaling of the same design rather than a new one. Inputs and qubits are not the same unit, and the mapping between them has not been published [4].
The scaling story rests on the architecture. OptQC generates optical pulses sequentially, sends them into the processor at different times and measures them in sequence, using quantum teleportation and time-domain multiplexing to perform operations with fewer optical components [13]. That is how a 100x step becomes arguable on paper: you buy scale in the time domain instead of in component count. It also means the timing and stability chain has to hold across a hundredfold longer sequence, and stability is precisely what OptQC itself lists as the first order of work on MoQuren, alongside classical integration and a usable developer environment [15].
The research lineage is deep. Furusawa demonstrated deterministic quantum teleportation at Caltech in 1998 and later built a teleportation-based method for optical quantum computers, according to OptQC's company profile [17], and Asavanant demonstrated a two-dimensional optical cluster state in 2019 [18]. That history answers whether the physics works. It does not answer whether a box stays aligned in a shared facility, which is the question the room-temperature, atmospheric-pressure design puts on the table when it drops the dilution refrigerator [14]. OptQC's argument that this cuts energy use and control complexity and eases data-centre integration [25] is an operations claim, and operations claims are settled by maintenance records nobody has published.
Now the money. Before this round OptQC had 2.15 billion yen of equity, roughly $14 million, from a 650 million yen seed and a 1.5 billion yen Series A1 [21]. The A2 is about 4.7 times the A1 [20] and about 76 percent of every equity yen the company has raised [19]. It also arrives roughly two years after incorporation [24], for a company formed in September 2024 in Toshima-ku [5] by a founder with eight years in the Furusawa Lab behind him [6]. Separately, the $133 million cumulative figure OptQC cites includes public research grants and should not be read as equity [9], which leaves about $72 million outside the cap table [22].
What exists to be graded is thin by the company's own account: a demonstrator running at G-QuAT with AIST [7], an SDK and simulator still in development [16], and no disclosed workload, access route, user count, price, revenue or paying customer [4]. Nor a valuation, ownership breakdown or headcount [10]. The nearest thing to an external scorecard is AIST's, which places MoQuren inside its System O project and is integrating OptQC's optics into the ABCI-Q hybrid infrastructure [12]. On that path OptQC becomes a subsystem in a national lab's stack, and the first people in a position to say whether the hardware behaves are AIST's researchers rather than anyone paying for machine time.
What to watch
- A published workload result from MoQuren at G-QuAT, with access terms and a price for machine time attached.
- Whether the roughly 10,000-qubit successor acquires a delivery date, or an intermediate generation appears between it and MoQuren.
- Whether NTT's involvement produces a named data-centre or optical-network deployment rather than a lab integration.
Clarity's read
What the record supports and how the coverage leans. The claims behind it follow.
Reality
- Evidence52
- Adoption22
- Hype gap+30
- Incentives74
- Confidence55
Claim ledger
Ranked by verification strength, evidence, and original report placement.
- [1]
Kan Takase's OptQC closed a 7.0 billion yen ($47 million) Series A2 led by NTT to build the next generation of its room-temperature optical quantum computers.
- [2]
The Series A2 was announced on August 25.
- [3]
OptQC plans to use the new capital for a successor processor targeting approximately 10,000 qubits and 100 times MoQuren's computational performance, plus hiring across quantum optics, circuit design, mechanical engineering, control systems, software and business development.
- [4]
OptQC has not disclosed what workloads MoQuren has completed, who can currently access it, how many users it has or whether access is priced; revenue and paying customers are also undisclosed.
- [5]
OptQC was incorporated on September 2, 2024, is based in Toshima-ku, Tokyo, and was formed by Takase with fellow researcher Warit Asavanant and laboratory head Akira Furusawa.
- [6]
Takase spent eight years researching optical quantum computing in the University of Tokyo's Furusawa Laboratory before leaving academia in September 2024.
- [7]
The financing comes about a month after OptQC and Japan's AIST started operating MoQuren, OptQC's first commercial demonstration system, at AIST's G-QuAT research centre.
- [8]
OptQC has raised 9.15 billion yen, about $61 million, in equity across three rounds: a 650 million yen seed in January 2025, a 1.5 billion yen Series A1 in October 2025 and the Series A2.
- [9]
OptQC's larger $133 million cumulative figure includes public research grants and should not be read as equity funding.
- [10]
OptQC has not disclosed its valuation, ownership breakdown, headcount or individual investor check sizes.
- [11]
OptQC's published roadmap describes MoQuren as a 100-input quantum-analog demonstration machine operating at 100 MHz.
- [12]
AIST says MoQuren is a component of its System O project and that OptQC's optical technology is being integrated into the ABCI-Q hybrid quantum-classical infrastructure.
- [13]
OptQC's architecture generates optical pulses sequentially, sends them into the processor at different times and measures them in sequence, using quantum teleportation and time-domain multiplexing to perform operations with fewer optical components.
- [14]
OptQC's photonic architecture is designed to operate at room temperature and atmospheric pressure, avoiding the dilution refrigerators required by some competing quantum-computing platforms.
- [15]
MoQuren remains a demonstration system rather than a fault-tolerant universal quantum computer, and the first work is operational: keeping the hardware stable, integrating it with classical systems and giving developers a usable environment.
- [16]
OptQC is developing an SDK and simulator for researchers and prospective users.
- [17]
Furusawa demonstrated deterministic quantum teleportation at Caltech in 1998 and later developed a method for building optical quantum computers around teleportation, according to OptQC's company profile.
- [18]
In 2019, Asavanant, OptQC's co-founder and CTO, demonstrated a two-dimensional optical cluster state, a form of large-scale entanglement used in OptQC's measurement-based approach.
- [19]
The 7.0 billion yen Series A2 is about 76 percent of OptQC's 9.15 billion yen total equity raised.
- [20]
The Series A2 is about 4.7 times the size of the 1.5 billion yen Series A1.
- [21]
Before the Series A2, OptQC had raised 2.15 billion yen of equity, about $14 million.
- [22]
About $72 million of the $133 million cumulative figure is not equity funding.
- [23]
The roughly 10,000-qubit target is 100 times MoQuren's 100 inputs, matching the stated 100x performance goal, though inputs and qubits are not the same unit.
- [24]
Because the Series A2 announcement on August 25 follows the October 2025 Series A1, it falls roughly two years after OptQC's September 2, 2024 incorporation.
- [25]
OptQC argues its design can reduce energy consumption and control-system complexity while making its machines easier to integrate with conventional data centres and optical networks.
Sources
1 independent publisher whose own reporting we read for this story.
- runtimewire.comOptQC raises $47M as NTT backs its room-temperature quantum computer bet
1 article · August 25, 2026
Topics and entities
Follow any of these and your For You feed starts watching them — no settings page required.