A Massachusetts filing puts 436 names on Hasbro's unexplained March breach
Hasbro's notification letters describe one compromised employee account in general terms, while the Massachusetts breach report is where the Social Security numbers, card numbers and driver's license data appear.
The Watch · Security desk

What happened
- Hasbro has filed employee data breach notification letters with the Massachusetts Attorney General's Office, and the state count puts 436 residents in scope while the company gives no worldwide total.
- The company took systems offline after a March 28 cyberattack and has since accounted for roughly $25 million in lost revenue across its financial reports.
- Hasbro has not linked that March attack to the employee breach, and no known cybercrime group has listed the company on a leak site.
Why it matters
- exposure Employees outside Massachusetts have no published filing to read, so 436 is a floor set by one state's disclosure practice rather than a measure of how many staff were hit.
- contradiction The regulator's report is more specific about what was taken than the letter sent to the person it was taken from, and the letter is what an affected employee acts on.
- cost The revenue damage is already booked in the financials, while identity protection for current and former staff and any downstream liability remain unpriced.
- constraint With "compromised employee account" as the only described vector and no dwell time given, peers get nothing here they can convert into a detection or control change.
The only access mechanism Hasbro has described is one employee account. The company says it implemented containment and remediation "including disabling the compromised employee account, terminating unauthorized access, and deploying additional safeguards designed to help prevent a similar incident from occurring in the future" [10]. It has not said how that account was taken, and it did not disclose when the incident was detected [4]. The investigation concluded that personal information of some current and former employees may have been accessed [13].
The scale is bounded on one side only. Against a workforce that Revelio Labs data puts at roughly 4,600 people, most of them in the United States [8], the 436 Massachusetts residents named in the state filing [2] work out to about 9.5 percent of headcount [17]. SecurityWeek's assessment is that the total is likely hundreds or a few thousand, and Hasbro has given no figure [18].
Massachusetts is where the paperwork surfaced. SecurityWeek reports that no Hasbro breach notifications had appeared on any other attorney general website at the time of writing [6]. The letter an employee received offers a menu: name plus "email, address, phone number, national ID number, or financial information" [3]. The Massachusetts Attorney General's 2026 Data Breach Notification Report says what was actually involved for those 436 people, which is Social Security numbers, financial account information, credit and debit card numbers, and driver's license information [9].
The outage side of this has been public since early April. The attack hit on March 28 and forced Hasbro to take systems offline while restoring them [4]. The SEC filing at the time warned investors of "some delays" and said interim business continuity measures "may continue for several weeks before the situation is fully resolved" [11]. Financial reports filed since account for approximately $25 million in lost revenue [12]. Hasbro did not link that incident to the employee breach in its notification letters [5], and when SecurityWeek asked directly whether the two are connected, the company did not answer the question [7].
Nothing public supports extortion. No known cybercrime group has listed Hasbro on a leak site [14], and a spokesperson was not available to tell BleepingComputer whether attackers sent a ransom demand or whether customers were affected [15]. A compromised employee account that ends in payroll-grade identity data is closer to the credential-abuse pattern than to a smash-and-encrypt run, but with no claimed attribution and no stated dwell time, that is inference and should be read as such. Hasbro says it is not aware of any misuse of the data and is offering identity protection through a third-party provider [16].
The sequencing is the part worth keeping. Hasbro quantified the revenue damage for investors within months of the attack [12]; the people whose Social Security numbers were in scope got a letter with a list of maybes [3], and the specifics reached the record through a state regulator's report [9].
What to watch
- Filings on other state attorney general sites, which would move the count above the 436 Massachusetts residents.
- An SEC filing or on-record statement in which Hasbro states whether the March 28 attack and the employee breach are the same incident.
- Any extortion group claiming Hasbro or posting data, which would reframe the intrusion from account compromise to theft for leverage.
Clarity's read
What the record supports and how the coverage leans. The claims behind it follow.
Reality
- Evidence68
- Adoption46
- Hype gap−9
- Incentives57
- Confidence61
Claim ledger
Ranked by verification strength, evidence, and original report placement.
- [1]
Hasbro is notifying employees that their personal information may have been compromised in a data breach, via notification letters submitted to the Massachusetts Attorney General's Office.
- [2]
The Massachusetts notification says 436 residents are impacted.
- [3]
Hasbro's letters said: "The information involved varied by individual but may have included your name and one or more additional personal information elements such as email, address, phone number, national ID number, or financial information."
- [4]
Hasbro disclosed in early April a cyberattack that hit its systems on March 28 and forced the company to take some systems offline while working to restore them; the notification letters did not disclose the total number of affected individuals or when the incident was detected.
- [5]
Hasbro did not link the March incident with the data breach disclosed in the notification letters filed with the Massachusetts attorney general's office.
- [6]
Data breach notifications did not appear to have been published on any other attorney general website at the time of writing.
- [7]
SecurityWeek asked Hasbro to confirm whether the new breach notification is connected to the March cyberattack, and the company did not directly answer that question.
- [8]
Hasbro has roughly 4,600 employees worldwide, most in the United States, according to Revelio Labs data.
- [9]
According to the Massachusetts Attorney General's Office 2026 Data Breach Notification Report, the breach affected the Social Security numbers, financial account information, credit/debit card numbers, and driver's license information of 436 Hasbro employees in Massachusetts.
- [10]
Hasbro said it "implemented containment and remediation measures, including disabling the compromised employee account, terminating unauthorized access, and deploying additional safeguards designed to help prevent a similar incident from occurring in the future."
- [11]
In an SEC filing at the time, Hasbro warned investors of "some delays" and said interim measures taken for business continuity "may continue for several weeks before the situation is fully resolved."
- [12]
According to financial reports filed by Hasbro since the attack, the company has lost approximately $25 million in revenue from the cyberattack.
- [13]
Hasbro's investigation determined that some current and former employees' personal information may have been accessed during the incident.
- [14]
No known cybercrime group has listed Hasbro on its leak website.
- [15]
A Hasbro spokesperson was not immediately available for comment when BleepingComputer asked whether any customers were also affected and whether the attackers sent a ransom demand.
- [16]
Hasbro said it is "not aware of any misuse of personal data," has no indication the information will be misused, and is offering identity protection services through a third-party provider to those affected.
- [17]
The 436 Massachusetts residents represent about 9.5 percent of Hasbro's roughly 4,600-person global workforce.
- [18]
It is unclear how many individuals are affected in total, but SecurityWeek assesses it is likely hundreds or a few thousand.
Get this ledger inside ChatGPT. Ask about any of our stories and the answer brings its figure, each claim’s verdict and the sources. Free, no account.
Sources
2 independent publishers whose own reporting we read for this story.
- bleepingcomputer.comToy-making giant Hasbro disclose data breach affecting employees
1 article · August 28, 2026
- securityweek.comHasbro Data Breach Exposed Employee Personal Information
1 article · August 29, 2026
Topics and entities
Follow any of these and your For You feed starts watching them — no settings page required.
Topics
- Account Compromise and ResponseFollow
- Data Breach NotificationFollow
- Cyberattack Financial ImpactFollow
- Employee PII ExposureFollow
Entities
- SecurityWeekFollow
- BleepingComputerFollow
- SECFollow
- HasbroFollow
- Massachusetts Attorney General's OfficeFollow
- Revelio LabsFollow