InvestNot yet confirmed elsewhere1 publisher2 min readPublished
Pi Network's OUSD payments plan specifies no requirement to buy or hold PI
Pi Network's October 8 plan to explore Open USD payments and Pioneer rewards specifies no requirement to buy or hold PI, a coin now near $0.0835. Dollar payments could grow activity on Pi while demand for the coin waits on reward and settlement terms the team has not published.
The Investor · Invest desk

Bridge, a Stripe company, issues OUSD. PI holders: no purchase requirement or measurable new PI demand. Pioneers: no terms on eligibility, rewards or who pays. Pi: no live Mainnet OUSD integration or date. Stripe businesses can access OUSD. Merchants taking PI face value swings.
- capability Bridge (a Stripe company) Issues OUSD; Bridge, not Pi or Open Standard, is the issuer of the dollar token, claim 13
- exposure PI holders Published plan specifies no purchase requirement or measurable source of new PI demand, claim 7
- constraint Pioneers No terms yet on who qualifies, what earns rewards, whether rewards come as OUSD or PI, or who pays, claim 11
- constraint Pi Network No live Pi Mainnet OUSD integration announced and no confirmed integration date, claim 2
- capability Businesses on Stripe Can access OUSD; Open Standard cites integrations through BVNK, Visa and Coinbase services, claim 5
- exposure Merchants pricing in PI A PI payment can lose or gain value before the merchant converts it to pay dollar suppliers, claim 18
| Who | How | Kind | Claim |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bridge (a Stripe company) | Issues OUSD; Bridge, not Pi or Open Standard, is the issuer of the dollar token | capability | 13 |
| PI holders | Published plan specifies no purchase requirement or measurable source of new PI demand | exposure | 7 |
| Pioneers | No terms yet on who qualifies, what earns rewards, whether rewards come as OUSD or PI, or who pays | constraint | 11 |
| Pi Network | No live Pi Mainnet OUSD integration announced and no confirmed integration date | constraint | 2 |
| Businesses on Stripe | Can access OUSD; Open Standard cites integrations through BVNK, Visa and Coinbase services | capability | 5 |
| Merchants pricing in PI | A PI payment can lose or gain value before the merchant converts it to pay dollar suppliers | exposure | 18 |
What happened
- Open Standard launched OUSD on September 30 on Base, Ethereum, Solana and Tempo, and Pi Mainnet was not one of the four chains.
- Pi says that for now it is working out the principles behind a later stablecoin integration, and that the design includes compliance.
- Pi appears on the partner list of Open Standard, which describes more than 200 participating institutions, fintechs and companies.
- Stripe said businesses on its platform can access OUSD, and Open Standard named BVNK, Visa and Coinbase services among its integrations.
Why it matters
- constraint Until a published design puts PI in the payment or reward path, OUSD volume on Pi cannot be counted as buying pressure on the coin.
- decision Pi still has to choose whether Pioneer rewards pay in OUSD or PI and who funds them, and that choice decides whether the program touches PI's supply at all.
- exposure PI holders keep the coin's full price risk while the payment value Pi is exploring would sit in a dollar token another company issues.
A dollar that enters OUSD does not have to pass through PI on the way in or out. According to Open Standard, businesses can mint and burn the token at one dollar to one with no fee [14]. Bridge, a Stripe company, issues it [13], and the reserves are held at BlackRock, Lead Bank and BNY, according to Open Standard [15]. Open Standard also promises monthly reserve attestations [15].
Merchants have a plain reason to want that. Using CoinGecko closes, a $100 sale priced at PI's October 1 close of $0.090064 would have been paid in about 1,110 coins [16][20]. At the October 8 close of $0.080775, those coins were worth about $89.69 [20]. The seller would have lost 10.3% in seven days [19]. Crypto.news describes the same mismatch for a shop that quotes in a volatile coin and pays its suppliers in dollars [18].
Open Standard's partner terms say members can share rewards tied to the supply and activity they bring to the network [4]. As published, then, a partner gets paid for growing OUSD. Pi says it wants its own coin to remain the primary crypto in its ecosystem [10]. The team has not disclosed the product, the settlement path, a launch schedule, reward amounts, which Pioneers qualify, whether rewards come as OUSD or PI, who pays for them, or what role PI plays when someone makes a dollar payment [11].
The open terms could still go another way. A fee or settlement role for PI on Mainnet OUSD transfers would turn payment volume into PI demand, roughly in proportion to use. A rule that Pioneers must hold PI to qualify for rewards would give them a reason to keep it. Rewards paid out in PI would add coins to circulation.
We think the plan as written would grow a dollar business on Pi's network, or rather it would once there is a Mainnet integration to grow it on [2]. Until then PI trades on the demand it already has. That was about $2.8 million in 24-hour volume on October 11 [17], with the price down about 7.3% from the October 1 close [21] despite a 3.4% rebound from October 8 [22]. The counter-thesis is that people who come for dollar payments stay and buy PI for other reasons. A big enough user base could produce that without any rule forcing it. We would be proved wrong by a published design in which a payer, a payee or a rewarded Pioneer has to acquire or keep PI.
What to watch
- Whether the October 13 node deadline or the October 16 Protocol 28 activation brings any OUSD detail; neither is an announced OUSD launch.
- Published Pioneer reward terms: who qualifies, whether payouts come in OUSD or PI, and who funds them.
- An OUSD contract address on Pi Mainnet, like the ones Open Standard published for its four launch chains.
Clarity's read
What the record supports and how the coverage leans. The claims behind it follow.
Reality
- Evidence60
- Adoption10
- Hype gap+5
- Incentives55
- Confidence55
Claim ledger
Ranked by verification strength, evidence, and original report placement.
- [1]
Open Standard launched OUSD on September 30, naming Base, Ethereum, Solana and Tempo as native chains and publishing a contract address on each; Pi was not one of those four chains.
ReportedSupportedSource: crypto.news citing Open Standard's announcement3 sources— create a free account to open themView cited source - [2]
Pi has not announced a live Pi Mainnet integration of OUSD, and there is no confirmed Mainnet integration date.
- [3]
Open Standard describes more than 200 participating institutions, fintechs and companies, and Pi appears on its partner list.
ReportedSupportedSource: crypto.news citing Open Standard3 sources— create a free account to open themView cited source - [4]
Open Standard members can share rewards tied to the supply and activity they bring to the network.
ReportedSupportedSource: Open Standard partner information, via crypto.news3 sources— create a free account to open themView cited source - [5]
Stripe said on September 30 that businesses using its platform can access OUSD; Open Standard described integrations through BVNK, Stripe, Visa and Coinbase services.
ReportedSupportedSource: Stripe and Open Standard, via crypto.news3 sources— create a free account to open themView cited source - [6]
Pi Network's October 8 statement outlined a possible role for Open USD (OUSD) in payments and Pioneer rewards, leaving the design open; its Open Standard partnership will explore OUSD rewards for Pioneers and wider use within the ecosystem.
- [7]
The published plan does not specify a purchase requirement or a measurable source of new PI demand.
- [8]
Pi has an October 13 node deadline and a planned October 16 Protocol 28 activation; neither is an announced OUSD launch.
- [9]
Pi's team says its current focus is setting principles for a future stablecoin integration, with compliance part of the design.
ReportedSupportedSource: Pi Network, via crypto.news2 sources— create a free account to open themView cited source - [10]
Pi wants its own coin to remain the primary crypto in its ecosystem.
ReportedSupportedSource: Pi Network, via crypto.news2 sources— create a free account to open themView cited source - [11]
Pi's team has yet to disclose the product, settlement path, launch schedule, reward amounts, or the role PI would play when someone makes a dollar payment; no official terms state which Pioneers qualify, what action earns rewards, whether rewards arrive as OUSD or PI, or who pays for them.
- [12]
PI was near $0.0835 on October 11, according to CoinGecko.
- [13]
OUSD is issued by Bridge, a Stripe company; Bridge, not Pi or Open Standard, is the issuer.
- [14]
Businesses can mint and burn OUSD at a one-to-one dollar conversion rate without a mint or burn fee.
- [15]
OUSD reserves are held at BlackRock, Lead Bank and BNY, and monthly reserve attestations are promised.
- [16]
CoinGecko historical closes for PI: $0.090064 on October 1, $0.080775 on October 8 and $0.083350 on October 10.
- [17]
PI had roughly $2.8 million in reported 24-hour volume on October 11.
- [18]
A shop that pays suppliers in dollars faces a mismatch when it quotes goods in a volatile coin; a PI payment can lose or gain value before the merchant converts it.
- [19]
PI fell about 10.3% from its October 1 close to its October 8 close.
- [20]
A $100 sale priced at the October 1 close would be about 1,110 PI, worth about $89.69 at the October 8 close.
- [21]
PI near $0.0835 on October 11 is about 7.3% below its October 1 close.
- [22]
PI near $0.0835 on October 11 is about 3.4% above its October 8 close.
Sources
1 independent publisher whose own reporting we read for this story.
- crypto.newsOUSD could bring payments to Pi Network. Will any demand reach PI?
1 article · October 10, 2026
Topics and entities
Follow any of these and your For You feed starts watching them — no settings page required.