Skip to content

InvestNot yet confirmed elsewhere1 publisher3 min readPublished

Ethena pays to retire the seed tokens its early backers were already selling

The Foundation bought out the locked allocations of seed investors who had shown they would sell, released everyone else's early, and proposes routing 95% of net revenue into buybacks. That trade rests on a revenue figure the Foundation has not published.

The Investor · Invest desk

How we use AISend a correction

Illustration accompanying Ethena pays to retire the seed tokens its early backers were already selling
Generated illustration

What happened

  • Ethena's Foundation said on August 27 that it had executed a buyout of all locked tokens held by certain major seed investors that had sold any part of their position, the first of four announced changes.
  • It also agreed with lead investors to end the overhang from monthly VC unlocks by releasing unvested tokens, with team locks left tied to their existing vesting schedules.
  • The fourth item is a proposal to route 95% of the protocol's net revenue into buying ENA.
  • ENA changed hands near $0.166 after a gain of more than 20% in a day, putting its market capitalisation above $1.62bn.

Why it matters

  • cost The buyout is treasury cash spent retiring supply from funds that were already selling, so it is cash not spent on incentives, integrations or the next USDe distribution deal. The Foundation has not disclosed the amount.
  • precedent Every 2024-vintage token still running a monthly VC unlock schedule now has a worked example of buying the overhang off early, and its holders will ask why their foundation is still waiting it out.
  • contradiction Cryptopolitan's own piece carries two ENA snapshots, one near $0.085 with an $833m cap and one near $0.166 with $1.62bn, so how big a re-rating this is depends on which figure a reader treats as current.

The selection rule is the term worth reading twice. The Foundation did not retire every seed allocation; it bought out all locked tokens from the major seed investors that had sold any part of their position [9] and released the unvested tokens of the investors who had not [1], which prices adverse selection rather than supply. Pay to remove the holders who have already shown you what they do with liquidity, and hand early liquidity to the holders who sat through a slide from $1.52 in April 2024 [6] to roughly $0.085 a week ago [5]. Cheaper than buying out everyone, assuming the second group behaves as advertised. The October 5 target for zero investor lockups [2] says the Foundation would rather manage one dated cliff than explain a monthly drip.

Then the money. ENA near $0.166 with a market cap above $1.62bn [4] implies about 9.8 billion tokens circulating [17], and the $166m Ethena has raised from backers including Franklin Templeton, Pantera and Dragonfly [11] is roughly a tenth of that capitalisation [18]. The Foundation has not disclosed the buyout's size, and that figure is what would separate treasury discipline from a rescue of a few funds' entry prices.

The 95% headline [3] is doing more rhetorical work than arithmetical, because net revenue is not fees. DeFiLlama data cited by Cryptopolitan puts cumulative fees near $983m since launch against about $5.4bn of value locked as of June [7], but USDe holds its dollar by pairing collateral with short futures [12], and the funding those shorts collect is largely what pays the USDe holder; net revenue is what is left after that, and the Foundation has not published it. Approach it from the other side: retiring 10% of a $1.62bn market cap in a year at a 95% payout requires net revenue of about $170m [21]. That is the test the proposal has to pass.

There is a counter-thesis worth taking seriously. A payout ratio that high ties the bid under the token to perpetual funding, which is generous when everyone is long and negative when they are not, so the buyback spends hardest near the top and goes quiet in the drawdown it is meant to cushion. The $1bn secured lending facility Ethena opened with FalconX in August, routing USDe reserves into overcollateralised institutional loans expressly as a yield source outside futures funding [14], is the hedge against that, and its eventual share of net revenue matters more to the buyback than the percentage does.

This is probably the wrong emphasis, but the IP assignment reads as the load-bearing change: the agreement putting the protocol's IP and the ownership of value it accrues exclusively with the Foundation [10]. A percentage is one governance vote away from being 40%. Where the value accrues is what makes any percentage payable to token holders at all.

What would falsify the thesis is flow from the released cohort. Per Cryptopolitan, a Hack VC-linked wallet sold $3m of ENA into Wintermute during a 58% rally hours before the announcement [8], which is 0.19% of market cap [15] and therefore noise. If the investors who got early release instead sell into the buyback through October, the Foundation will have converted a schedule into a single crowded exit and paid a premium for the conversion.

What to watch

  • Whether the Foundation ever discloses what the seed buyout cost and which treasury line paid for it.
  • Whether the 95% proposal survives governance at 95%, and how the proposal text defines net revenue.
  • Onchain selling from the cohort whose unvested tokens were released early, in the weeks either side of October 5.

Clarity's read

What the record supports and how the coverage leans. The claims behind it follow.

Reality

Evidence30
Adoption54
Hype gap+40
Incentives74
Confidence34
Why these scores

Claim ledger

Ranked by verification strength, evidence, and original report placement.

  1. [1]

    The Foundation said it had agreed with lead investors to end future overhang associated with monthly VC unlocks by releasing unvested tokens, while team locks remain tied to their vesting schedules.

  2. [2]

    Ethena wants no investor tokens subject to lockups by October 5.

  3. [3]

    The fourth update is a proposal to route 95% of the protocol's net revenue into ENA buybacks.

Sources

1 independent publisher whose own reporting we read for this story.

  1. cryptopolitan.com

    1 article · August 27, 2026

    Ethena Foundation buys out early investors in major ecosystem, token overhaul

Share your take

Let Clarity write the post for you.

Signed-in readers get a short post drafted on this story in the register they choose — narrative, analytical, or a direct position — editable to the last word before it goes anywhere. The share buttons at the top of this story work without an account.

Topics and entities

Follow any of these and your For You feed starts watching them — no settings page required.

Topics

  • Token buybacks and protocol value accrualFollow
  • Institutional capital in DeFiFollow
  • Token vesting and unlock overhangFollow
  • Protocol revenue disclosureFollow
  • Synthetic dollar stablecoinsFollow
Loading related stories