South Korea puts 512 GPUs behind unlimited free AI for every citizen
Three consortia will run a free tier with no usage caps on state-supplied hardware, under a rule that Korean models carry at least half the load. The ministry has published neither the cost nor a target for uptake.
The Board Room · Leadership desk

What happened
- South Korea selected three consortia, led by SK Telecom, KT and Kakao, to build basic AI services that will be free with no usage limits for every citizen, in a decision announced on Aug. 28.
- The government will hand the three groups a combined 512 Nvidia B200 graphics processors during 2026 to run those services.
- From 2027 the state will cover part of the nationwide operating expense, with the companies required to contribute funds of their own and develop revenue sources.
- Rules issued in July require at least half of each service's model usage to come from qualifying Korean foundation models, and at least 30% from domestic developers other than the lead operator.
- The government has not disclosed the program's precise cost, has left future operating support unsettled, and has set no target for how many citizens will adopt the services.
Why it matters
- constraint Committing the funded majority of traffic to cleared domestic models removes the routing lever operators elsewhere use to hold inference bills flat, so any efficiency has to be found inside the Korean model pool.
- cost When operating expense starts moving onto the public books in 2027, there is no published budget and no expected user count to divide it by, which leaves legislators approving a subsidy they cannot size.
- exposure The no-limits promise rests on capacity math written before the hardware was split three ways, and it is the three operators, not the modelers, who absorb the gap if real requests run longer than assumed.
- decision Because the base tier cannot be capped, each consortium must now decide how much capability to withhold for the paid tiers the rules permit, and that choice sets what free actually feels like.
The capacity number carries this program, so it is worth taking apart. One B200 producing about 10,000 output tokens a second, delivered in 50-token-per-second slices, serves 200 people at once, which is where the 51,000 simultaneous-user figure for a 256-GPU operator comes from [15][19]. Run those same 256 processors for a full day and you get roughly 221 billion output tokens; divide by the assumed peak factor of six, then by the 2,000 tokens each user is assumed to consume daily, and 18.4 million daily users falls out [16][18]. Every term in that chain is a planning input, and the estimate's own caveat says as much: it holds only for lightweight optimized models, short requests and no early surge [11].
The hardware has since been divided in a way the model did not anticipate. The July 17 scenario sized a single operator at 256 processors, while the state is supplying 512 across three consortia, an average of about 171 each, and the assumptions predated the selection of three operators [15][2][12][17]. On the benchmark arithmetic, the whole national fleet supports on the order of 102,000 users at the same instant [20]. That ceiling is adequate if demand spreads across the day the way the model assumes, and it is the entire exposure if it does not.
The domestic-usage floor is the part of the design that sets the cost curve. Qualifying Korean foundation models must meet government independence standards, and foreign models may cover limited functions but draw no government funding for doing so [4][5]. The standard lever for holding an inference bill flat is routing each workload to the cheapest model that clears the quality bar; here the funded majority of traffic is committed in advance to a supplier list chosen on industrial-policy grounds. Seoul has taken the domestic-capability side of that trade, and the price of it will show up as forgone efficiency rather than as a line item.
A skeptic would say unlimited is a soft word, since more than 20 million South Koreans already use free generative AI without any state involvement [10], and none of them use it continuously. That is right, and it is why a no-limits base tier is deliverable at all. But with a fixed fleet and no cap on the basic chatbot or the public-service agent [13], rationing still has to land somewhere, and what is left is model size and response speed. Fifty tokens a second implies about ten seconds to finish a 500-token answer [21], and nobody has committed to that as a service level, least of all for the phone and text channels meant for people who struggle with digital services [7].
The financing sequence is the durable part. State hardware first, partial operating support a year later, operator-generated revenue after that [2][3], with paid specialized and higher-performance tiers permitted above the free floor [13]. That makes a publicly funded free tier the acquisition channel for three companies' paid products, which can be a defensible bargain. It cannot be audited as one, because the ministry has published no cost and set no adoption target [9], and a cost per user needs a denominator. Agreements are due in September 2026 with a launch by year-end [6], which is the window in which that number is still a negotiating question rather than an appropriation.
What to watch
- Whether the science ministry publishes a program budget or a per-user cost before the operator agreements are signed.
- Whether the July capacity assumptions are reissued for three operators and for real request lengths once beta testing produces data.
- Whether the 2027 operating support is structured as a fixed appropriation or as a share of expenses that rises with usage.
Clarity's read
What the record supports and how the coverage leans. The claims behind it follow.
Reality
- Evidence60
- Adoption
- Insufficient
- Hype gap+40
- Incentives65
- Confidence58
Perspective Coverage
5 publishers- Builder
- Builder 32%
- Operator
- Operator 39%
- Investor
- Investor 29%
Claim ledger
Ranked by verification strength, evidence, and original report placement.
- [1]
South Korea on Aug. 28 selected three consortia led by SK Telecom, KT and Kakao to build basic AI services that will be free and have no usage limits for every citizen.
- [2]
The government will supply the three groups with a combined 512 Nvidia B200 graphics processors during 2026.
- [3]
The government will begin supporting part of the nationwide operating expense in 2027, while the companies must contribute funds and develop revenue sources.
- [4]
Rules issued in July require at least 50% of each service's model usage to come from Korean foundation models that meet government independence standards, and at least 30% to come from domestic models developed outside the lead operator.
- [5]
Foreign models may cover limited functions, but their use will not receive government funding.
- [6]
The science ministry plans to sign agreements with the three operators in September 2026, begin beta testing after that, and launch the full service by year-end.
- [7]
SK Telecom's service will work through an app and the web as well as phone calls and text messages for people who struggle with digital services.
- [8]
Kakao will make KakaoTalk its main entrance, with a service designed to handle reservations, applications and payments and specialized agents for areas such as senior care and taxes.
- [9]
The government has not disclosed the program's precise cost, future operating support remains unsettled, and it has not set an adoption target.
- [10]
Seoul officials estimate that more than 20 million South Koreans use free versions of generative AI, but the project has no target for how many will shift to the government-backed services.
- [11]
The published capacity figures are assumptions rather than established performance, and depend on lightweight, highly optimized models, short requests and no immediate surge in demand.
- [12]
The capacity assumptions predated the selection of three operators.
- [13]
The basic chatbot and public-service agent are to be free without usage limits, while under the July terms operators may still charge for specialized services or higher-performance features.
- [14]
The public-service agent is intended to identify benefits for which a user may qualify and help with applications.
- [15]
A July 17 capacity calculation modeled an operator receiving 256 B200 processors, beginning with Nvidia benchmark data showing one B200 generating about 10,000 output tokens per second with the 70-billion-parameter Llama 3.3 model; assuming 50 output tokens per second per user, it put simultaneous capacity at roughly 51,000 users.
- [16]
A second calculation assumed four questions per user each day, an average response of 500 tokens and peak demand six times the daily average, producing a theoretical capacity of about 18.4 million daily users.
- [17]
512 processors split evenly across three consortia is about 171 each, roughly two-thirds of the 256 processors assumed in the July 17 model.
- [18]
The 18.4 million daily-user figure is reproducible from the stated assumptions: 256 GPUs at 10,000 output tokens per second give 2.56 million tokens per second, about 221 billion tokens per day, which divided by the peak factor of six and by 2,000 tokens per user per day yields roughly 18.4 million users.
- [19]
At 10,000 output tokens per second per GPU and 50 tokens per second per user, one B200 serves 200 concurrent users, and 256 of them serve about 51,200.
- [20]
Applying the same benchmark to the full national allocation of 512 processors gives about 102,400 simultaneous users.
- [21]
A 500-token response delivered at 50 output tokens per second takes about ten seconds to complete.
Sources
5 independent publishers whose own reporting we read for this story.
- en.yna.co.krSKT, KT, Kakao consortia selected for gov't-led AI service project | Yonhap News Agency
1 article · August 30, 2026
- implicator.aiSouth Korea Picks Three Groups for Free Nationwide AI Access
1 article · August 28, 2026
- koreatimes.co.krSKT, KT, Kakao consortiums selected for free AI service for public - The Korea Times
1 article · August 30, 2026
- Korea picks SK Telecom, Kakao, KT to build free nationwide AI services - The Korea Herald
m.koreaherald.com
1 article · August 30, 2026
- South Korea Selects Three Companies to Run Free National AI Service, With Limits on 'Unlimited' Access | XenoSpectrum
xenospectrum.com
1 article · August 30, 2026
Topics and entities
Follow any of these and your For You feed starts watching them — no settings page required.
Topics
- Public AI servicesFollow
- AI inference capacityFollow
- South Korea Tech PolicyFollow
- Sovereign AIFollow
Entities
- KakaoFollow
- UpstageFollow
- KTFollow
- NvidiaFollow
- NVIDIA B200Follow
- Llama 3.3 70BFollow
- NaverFollow
- KakaoTalkFollow
- National IT Industry Promotion AgencyFollow
- HyperCLOVA XFollow
- Ministry of Science and ICTFollow
- LG AI ResearchFollow
- SK TelecomFollow