Product4 distinct publishers3 min readPublished
Lenovo matched Apple's $699.99 entry price and raised the colour count to seven, but The Verge says the OLED upgrade can be ordered only in grey or blue, which leaves the cheerful finishes on a standard LCD.
The Product Desk · Product desk
Compiled by The Product DeskSomething wrong?How this is made
In October, someone settles on radiant coral, and then finds the OLED touchscreen is not offered on that finish. According to The Verge, IPS LCD panels are standard on both the 14- and 15-inch Vibe, and the touchscreen OLED upgrade is available only on the grey and blue colourways [7]. That is two of the seven Pantone finishes Lenovo announced [5], which leaves five where the panel decision has been made for the buyer already [10]. Anyone who wants the screen is picking between two colours, two fewer than the four Apple ships on the Neo [11].
The launch coverage does not sit still on this point. 9to5Google describes the Vibe as a laptop that can be outfitted with either a 14-inch or 15-inch OLED display, with an optional touchscreen on the 15-inch [8], and Engadget notes support for up to 120Hz OLED panels [9]. Both describe an option rather than the machine that costs $699.99.
The gap between that base price and the upgrades reviewers actually recommend is where the real cost sits. Engadget, working from pre-production samples, says the base model comes with 8GB and advises leaving budget room for 16GB or more [14]; The Verge says Lenovo has not disclosed base memory at all, and reads the silence as a clue [15]. None of the three launch reports carries a price for the OLED panel or for a memory upgrade [22]. So the figure that matches Apple's post-hike entry price [3] belongs to a configuration that the reviewer who handled the hardware would not recommend.
What the Vibe genuinely holds over the Neo is serviceability and sockets. There are two USB-A and two USB-C ports, all at 5Gbps, plus HDMI 1.4, a headphone jack and a microSD reader, none of them fast by The Verge's reckoning [19]. Storage runs to 1TB across user-accessible dual SSD slots [18], and the AMD Ryzen AI 400 board takes up to 32GB of user-upgradeable dual-channel memory while the Snapdragon X version tops out at 24GB that cannot be changed [16]. AMD models go on sale in October, Snapdragon in November, Intel at an unstated later date [20].
Engadget reads the name and the palette as aimed at younger buyers who are feeling electronics prices rise during the global RAM shortage [21]. That is precisely the buyer for whom $699.99 means 8GB and an LCD.
A cleaner way to run the configurator is to sort every line by whether it can change after delivery. Colour and panel never can. Memory can, but only on the AMD board. Storage can at any point, because both slots are reachable. Spend at checkout on the permanent axes and defer the rest, and the order that follows is a grey or blue AMD unit with the OLED and whatever memory fits, with your own sticks going in later. The seven-colour, swappable-keycap pitch [12] is the part you give up. Take coral instead and you have bought a competent laptop that beats the Neo on ports and colour choice, while the display advantage stays out of reach.
Ranked by verification strength, evidence, and original report placement.
Lenovo announced the IdeaPad Vibe at Lenovo Innovation World ahead of IFA, positioning it squarely against Apple's most affordable MacBook, the MacBook Neo.
Both AMD and Snapdragon IdeaPad Vibe models start at $699.99, matching the price of the MacBook Neo since Apple's RAM-induced price hike.
Lenovo teamed with Pantone to offer seven colour options for the IdeaPad Vibe: dreamy violet, spicy gold, zen green, chill blue, radiant coral, moody blue and lowkey grey.
The MacBook Neo comes in four different colours, while the IdeaPad Vibe raises the count to seven.
The IdeaPad Vibe comes in 14-inch and 15-inch sizes.
The AMD Ryzen AI 400 model supports up to 32GB of user-upgradeable dual-channel RAM, while the Qualcomm Snapdragon X model supports up to 24GB of RAM that is not user-upgradeable.
Distinct publishers with included, body-backed reporting in this cluster.
9to5google.com
1 article · September 3, 2026
9to5mac.com
1 article · September 3, 2026
engadget.com
1 article · September 3, 2026
theverge.com
1 article · September 3, 2026
Follow any of these and your For You feed starts watching them — no settings page required.
product
Dell's $699 XPS 13 closes the gap at the tier that decides fleet refreshes2 distinct publishers
product
Memory output is booked through 2027, so budget the next laptop refresh upward1 distinct publisher
product
Nvidia dates the Arm-based RTX Spark N1X to October without naming a price1 distinct publisher
security
Eclypsium counted 1,051 AI-infrastructure vulnerabilities across 12 vendors in 38 days1 distinct publisher
Evidence-backed comparisons of source perspectives and observed adoption signals. Read the methodology
Which Builder, Operator, and Investor concerns the observed source mix emphasized—not a truth score.
Evidence, demonstrated adoption, hype gap, incentives, and confidence are assessed independently, each on its own current evidence. How these are measured.
Consistent, but sourced from one room
Price, colours, chips, ports and dates line up across every account because every account came out of the same Lenovo briefing at the same minute, and the fourth is 9to5Mac reprinting 9to5Google verbatim. Engadget alone touched hardware, and it was pre-production. The two details a shopper would actually act on are the weakest sourced: the grey-and-blue OLED restriction appears in The Verge and nowhere else, and the 8GB base that Engadget states as fact is something The Verge says Lenovo has not disclosed.
Announced; first units in October
Nothing has been sold. AMD configurations reach buyers in October, Snapdragon in November, and the Intel variant has no date at all. The only Vibes in circulation are the pre-production samples Lenovo put in front of reviewers, which is why no account contains a benchmark, a battery result or a shipping-unit complaint.
Tilted toward the launch, not inflated
The claims themselves are modest and checkable — a price, a port list, a colour count. What runs ahead of the evidence is the conclusion drawn from them. A $699.99 Apple rival is being assessed on unfinished hardware; the cheerful-colours-versus-good-screen trade-off that gives the story its edge comes from one outlet; and the two numbers that would settle whether this is genuinely cheap, the base memory and what upgrades cost, are respectively disputed and absent.
Vendor-set beat, published in unison
Identical publish times point to a Lenovo embargo everyone honoured. Engadget's warm read comes from samples Lenovo handed out, and it steers readers toward a paid memory upgrade. 9to5Google folds in the IdeaCentre's price and three more Lenovo posts, then 9to5Mac runs the whole thing again for an Apple audience. None of these accounts is adversarial to the launch, and the comparison Lenovo most wants made — same price as Apple — is the first thing each of them says.
Firm on the spec sheet, soft on the point
We can say with real confidence what Lenovo announced, at what price, in how many colours and when it ships — that much is triple-stated and mutually consistent. Confidence drops on exactly the things the story is about: which finishes can take the OLED, what the cheapest Vibe has inside it, and what the good version costs.