Product4 publishers3 min readPublished Updated
iPhone 18 Pro Max owners who lost AT&T service need a new phone, Apple says
Apple says iPhone 18 Pro Max phones that lost service on AT&T must be replaced because software cannot reactivate them. Its iOS 27.0.1 release and a new AT&T carrier settings file are meant only to keep working phones from failing.
The Product Desk · Product desk

What happened
- MacRumors counts thousands of complaints about the fault across the Apple Support Community and other platforms.
- The AT&T carrier settings file reaches iPhone 18 Pro Max owners automatically over 14 days, or at once through Settings > General > About.
- Apple has not disclosed what causes the phones to lose service.
Compiled by The Product DeskSomething wrong?How this is made
Why it matters
- decision Anyone managing AT&T iPhone 18 Pro Max lines has to choose between touching every phone to pull the carrier file now and leaving working phones with half of Apple's prevention for up to two weeks.
- cost Owners already hit pay in a support call or store visit for a whole new phone, and free replacement is so far MacRumors' reading of Apple's guidance, with no announced service program setting terms.
- contradiction MacRumors splits the modems by country while Cult of Mac splits them by model, and copies of MacRumors' own story name two different Qualcomm parts, so any theory blaming the modem rests on reporting that does not agree.
The phone says No Service. The owner restarts it, and it still says No Service. Cult of Mac reports that affected iPhone 18 Pro Max units on AT&T behave exactly this way: the loss is not intermittent, and the phones fail to reconnect even after a reboot [16]. Calls, texts and data all stop with it [1].
A point release that lands days after complaints pile up looks like a repair to the person tapping Install. Apple's own wording is narrower. "These updates together are meant to help prevent this issue from occurring," Apple said in its statement to MacRumors [5]. For a phone that has already lost service, Apple said, no software update can reactivate it, and the device has to be replaced entirely [7].
Prevention comes in two parts. iOS 27.0.1 shipped earlier this week, and Apple strongly encouraged every iPhone 18 Pro Max owner to install it now from Settings > General > Software Update [17]. The AT&T carrier settings file followed on the day of the statement [3]. It downloads automatically over the next 14 days, or immediately if the owner opens Settings > General > About [6]. Because Apple describes the two updates as working together, a working phone that waits for the automatic download can spend up to 14 days with only one of them [1].
Apple calls the affected group "a small number of iPhone 18 Pro Max users on the AT&T network" [4]. MacRumors reports thousands of complaints across the Apple Support Community and other platforms [2]. Apple did not give a count. It says it has seen the fault only on this model and this carrier [8].
Apple did not disclose a cause [9], and the hardware reporting does not line up. MacRumors says US units use a Qualcomm Snapdragon modem while units sold in every other country use Apple's C2, and that it is unclear whether the difference matters [10]. Two copies of that MacRumors article name the Qualcomm part differently, as the X85 [12] and the X80 [13]. Cult of Mac says X80 and puts the C2 in the smaller iPhone 18 Pro [11]. One account splits the modems by country; the other splits them by model.
For phones already cut off, Apple points owners to Apple Support, AT&T, an Apple Store or an AT&T location [7]. On price, MacRumors wrote that "it sounds like Apple Stores will replace affected iPhone 18 Pro Max devices for free" [14]. It also said it is unclear whether Apple will set up a dedicated service program [15].
The people this is for are AT&T customers carrying the Pro Max and whoever manages a company's AT&T lines. Two questions sort every phone: does it have service right now, and does it have both updates. Without service, the phone goes to replacement whatever it is running [7]. With service and both updates, it has everything Apple has prescribed [5]. The case where acting today changes the outcome is a working phone with only iOS 27.0.1, because the carrier file can be pulled by hand [6]. I'd pull it by hand. The cost is someone opening Settings on every device in the fleet; the alternative is up to two weeks in which a working phone has half of Apple's prevention [1].
What to watch
- Whether Apple opens a formal service program that sets eligibility and confirms replacement at no charge.
- Whether Apple or Qualcomm names a cause, and whether reports surface on other carriers or other iPhone 18 models.
- Whether new failures appear on phones that already have both iOS 27.0.1 and the AT&T carrier settings update.