Skip to content

Leadership1 publisher3 min readPublished

Hourly power futures got an FCM door on August 10, and that is the part that counts

ElectronX now lists hourly contracts on four US grids its own figures put at close to 60 percent of national load. The CFTC just let brokers in. Volume is still tiny.

The Board Room · Leadership desk

Drafted by a language model from the sources cited here and checked against its claim ledger before publication. How we use AISend a correction

Illustration accompanying Hourly power futures got an FCM door on August 10, and that is the part that counts
Generated illustration

What happened

  • ElectronX, a Chicago exchange, began trading in December 2025 and lists hourly electricity contracts on four US grids.
  • ElectronX says those four grids carry close to 60 percent of national electricity load and 2.1 million gigawatt-hours of annual volume.
  • In July ElectronX recorded more than 37,000 contracts traded, representing 37 gigawatt-hours of electricity, its highest monthly volume to date. It has not disclosed open interest.
  • The CFTC approved ElectronX as both a designated contract market and a derivatives clearing organization in August 2025.
  • ElectronX's ERCOT suite opened in full on February 2, PJM followed on April 6, and MISO and CAISO listed on June 1.

Compiled by The Board RoomSomething wrong?How this is made

Why it matters

On August 10 the CFTC amended ElectronX's designation to permit intermediated trading through futures commission merchants, with FCM access expected to begin this fall [7]. That is the structural change worth noting: hourly electricity stops being a venue for firms willing to post full collateral as direct members and becomes reachable through the ordinary plumbing that institutional money already uses [7][6].

The regulatory groundwork came first. The CFTC approved ElectronX as both a designated contract market and a derivatives clearing organization in August 2025 [4]. The Chicago exchange began trading in December 2025 and rolled out grid by grid: ERCOT in full on February 2, PJM on April 6, MISO and CAISO on June 1 [1][5]. The instruments are one-megawatt-hour bounded futures and binary options listed across the following 120 hours, launched under a direct-access, fully collateralized model [6]. ElectronX says those four grids carry close to 60 percent of national electricity load and 2.1 million gigawatt-hours of annual volume [2].

Against that denominator, activity is small. July was the exchange's best month at more than 37,000 contracts, or 37 gigawatt-hours [3]. Annualized, that is roughly two hundredths of one percent of the volume flowing across the grids it lists [18]. ElectronX has not disclosed open interest [3].

The capital structure explains part of the liquidity. Total funding is above $55 million across a $15 million seed led by Innovation Endeavors in June 2024, a $10 million round led by Systemiq Capital in February 2025 that added Equinor Ventures and Shell Ventures, and a $30 million Series A led by DCVC in November 2025 whose investors included XTX Markets, Five Rings and GTS [8]. Three large electronic market makers taking equity before launch is a familiar answer to the cold-start problem that has closed most new derivatives exchanges, and it also concentrates early activity among owners; ElectronX has not published what share of its activity those firms account for [9].

The reason an operator should care is on the cost side. PJM's 2028/2029 capacity auction cleared at the $325 per megawatt-day cap on July 14, a third consecutive auction at the ceiling, and procured 6,831 megawatts less than the reliability requirement [10]. PJM's own modelling put the uncapped price at $554.72, and at $776.69 in the ComEd zone [11] - 71 percent and 139 percent above the cap that actually cleared [19]. The 2025 State of the Market report recorded wholesale power costs up 48.9 percent year over year and capacity costs up 262.3 percent [13]. On July 27 the PJM board proposed curtailing new large loads that do not bring their own generation by June 2027 [12].

Whether the buyers with the exposure want hourly derivatives is unresolved. BloombergNEF counted 55.9 gigawatts of corporate clean power purchase agreements globally in 2025, down 10 percent, with Amazon, Meta, Google and Microsoft at 49 percent of volume while unique US corporate buyers fell 51 percent to 33 [14]. The claim that long-dated supply leaves an unhedged hourly gap is ElectronX's thesis, and no public dataset yet shows hyperscalers trading short-dated power futures at scale [15].

Watch three things: which FCMs sign, whether open interest is ever published, and whether volume moves off a base that is currently rounding error. Hourly granularity multiplies listed contracts and one-megawatt-hour notionals make intermediated clearing uneconomic [16], so the FCM route is a direct test of whether conventional access brings enough flow to make this market work at scale [17].

Loading claim ledger
Loading source directory links
Loading share composer
Loading topic controls
Loading related stories