A7 will settle foreign invoices in USDT for 0.3%, 11 days after US sanctions hit its network
Russia's A7 will settle foreign invoices in USDT for a flat 0.3% fee, with recipients paid by SWIFT, 11 days after US sanctions on its network. It is aimed at businesses in international trade, the segment where US authorities say the network moved restricted payments.
The Investor · Invest desk
Key figures: FinCEN says companies operating as A7 Sub-Agents processed more than $17 billion in transactions between January 2025 and June 2026. A7 claims it handled approximately 19% of Russian companies' cross-border trade settlements in 2025, and says it serves approximately 15,000 customers.
| Figure | Value | Note | Claim |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sub-Agent transactions, Jan 2025 to Jun 2026, per FinCEN | $17bn more than | 9 | |
| Russian firms' cross-border settlements, 2025, about | 19% handled by A7 | A7's own claim | 5 |
| Customers served, about, per A7 | 15,000 customers | 4 |
What happened
- The US Treasury sanctioned the A7 Network on October 1: OFAC designated it a significant transnational criminal organization and FinCEN proposed restrictions on its affiliated payment agents.
- A7 says it serves about 15,000 customers and processes around 2,000 transactions a day across more than 100 countries.
- PSB chairman Petr Fradkov and A7 chief executive Ilan Shor are due to present the service live on October 13 at 13:13 Moscow time.
Why it matters
- exposure Foreign suppliers are the reachable party. They hold no crypto and see an ordinary bank transfer, so the exposure sits with their banks, which receive a wire whose upstream funding they cannot see.
- decision A counterparty offered payment through A7 International is being asked to accept funds from a network designated on October 1. FinCEN's restrictions are only proposed, so the choice to decline or to ask which entity and bank pay falls on the counterparty first.
- constraint The US case names third-country companies as carriers of Russian and Iranian payments, so a filter keyed to the A7 name alone would miss flows that arrive under someone else's.
- contradiction A7 cites a 19% share of Russian companies' cross-border settlements and an AA(RU) rating from a Russian agency. FinCEN cites more than $17 billion through sub-agents.
A7's announcement describes a payment product with one published price. Customers fund in USDT, the foreign recipient is paid by ordinary bank transfer and never has to accept crypto [8], and the fee is a flat 0.3% [2], or $3,000 on a $1 million invoice [15]. A7 has not disclosed the banks that will process the transfers, the currencies it will support or how USDT will be converted to fiat. The announcement does not say whether the 0.3% includes conversion costs or intermediary bank charges. Nor does it say when general customers get access [16][17][18].
The sanctions record concerns the earlier business, and it is large. FinCEN says A7 Sub-Agents processed more than $17 billion between January 2025 and June 2026 [9], about $944 million a month over 18 months [13]. Treasury alleges that the network disguised restricted transactions as routine commercial payments, relying on intermediary firms and deceptive trade paperwork [11]. For scale only, 0.3% of $17 billion is $51 million [14]. The 0.3% is the fee for the new service, so the $51 million should not be read as revenue.
We think the service is a cheaper funding step for a business the US has already described. The compliance question follows from that: in a USDT-funded invoice, who is the paying entity, and which bank receives the wire? A USDT leg may be only another way to fund payments A7's customers were already making, and then the October 1 designation [3] already defined the exposure, with the new product adding little. Eleven days separate the designation and the announcement [12].
The test is the October 13 presentation by PSB chairman Petr Fradkov and A7 chief executive Ilan Shor [7]. If they name processing banks and a conversion route that screening teams can already see and block, we are wrong. We are also wrong if the service fails to go live after it.
What to watch
- Whether Fradkov and Shor name processing banks, supported currencies and the USDT-to-fiat conversion route at the October 13 presentation.
- Whether FinCEN finalises its proposed restrictions on transactions involving A7's affiliated payment agents.
- Whether A7 publishes a general-access date and says if the 0.3% covers conversion and intermediary bank charges.
Clarity's read
What the record supports and how the coverage leans. The claims behind it follow.
Reality
- Evidence40
- Adoption
- Insufficient
- Hype gap+30
- Incentives75
- Confidence55
Claim ledger
Ranked by verification strength, evidence, and original report placement.
- [1]
A7 announced on October 12, via Chainwire, a service called A7 International that lets customers settle foreign invoices in USDT while recipients receive funds through SWIFT bank transfers.
- [2]
A7 International will charge a fixed transaction fee of 0.3%.
- [3]
The US Treasury sanctioned the A7 Network on October 1: OFAC designated it a significant transnational criminal organization, and FinCEN proposed restrictions on transactions involving its affiliated payment agents.
- [4]
A7 says it serves approximately 15,000 customers and processes around 2,000 transactions daily, with infrastructure operating across more than 100 countries.
- [5]
A7 claims it handled approximately 19% of Russian companies' cross-border trade settlements during 2025.
- [6]
Russian rating agency ACRA gave A7 an AA(RU) credit rating with a Stable outlook in October 2025.
- [7]
PJSC Bank PSB chairman Petr Fradkov and A7 CEO Ilan Shor are scheduled to introduce the service in a live presentation on October 13 at 13:13 Moscow time.
- [8]
Customers can fund transactions in USDT without the foreign recipient having to accept cryptocurrency directly; A7 arranges for the recipient to be paid by a standard bank transfer.
- [9]
According to FinCEN, companies operating as A7 Sub-Agents processed more than $17 billion in transactions between January 2025 and June 2026.
- [10]
US authorities alleged that the network used companies registered in third countries to move payments linked to sanctioned Russian and Iranian entities.
- [11]
The Treasury accused the network of using misleading trade documents and intermediary companies to make restricted transactions appear to be ordinary commercial payments.
- [12]
The A7 International announcement (October 12) came 11 days after the October 1 US sanctions.
- [13]
FinCEN's $17 billion over January 2025 to June 2026 works out to about $944 million a month.
- [14]
A 0.3% fee on $17 billion would be $51 million.
- [15]
A 0.3% fee on a $1 million invoice is $3,000.
- [16]
A7 has not disclosed which banks will process the transfers, which currencies will be supported, or how USDT payments will be converted into fiat currency before settlement.
- [17]
The announcement does not specify whether the 0.3% fee includes currency conversion costs or intermediary banking charges.
- [18]
A7 has not provided a separate date for general customer access or disclosed the countries where the service will initially operate.
Get this ledger inside ChatGPT. Ask about any of our stories and the answer brings its figure, each claim’s verdict and the sources. Free, no account.
Sources
2 independent publishers whose own reporting we read for this story.
- crypto.newsSanctioned Russian payment network A7 unveils new USDT service
1 article · October 12, 2026
- cryptobriefing.comA7 International enables USDT payments for foreign invoices via SWIFT
1 article · October 14, 2026
Topics and entities
Follow any of these and your For You feed starts watching them — no settings page required.