Skip to content

Build1 publisher3 min readPublished

Merchants absorb 0.4% on UPI baskets above Rs 2,000 from October 15

NPCI's new merchant discount rate caps at Rs 300 above Rs 75,000, exempts UPI AutoPay and charges fuel and utilities a flat Rs 5. Checkout cost in India now depends on category and funding instrument as much as on ticket size.

The Engineer · Build desk

Photograph accompanying Merchants absorb 0.4% on UPI baskets above Rs 2,000 from October 15
Photo: thehindu.com

What happened

  • NPCI has announced a 0.4% merchant discount rate on select UPI merchant transactions above Rs 2,000 from October 15, payable by merchants to acquiring banks, with payments up to Rs 2,000 still free.
  • Consumers will not be charged and person-to-person transfers stay free at any value, while merchants cannot pass the fee to customers and UPI apps cannot levy platform fees or other charges.
  • Railways, telecom, insurance, fuel and public utility payments above Rs 2,000 attract a flat Rs 5 fee instead, and recurring collections through UPI AutoPay are exempt.
  • Monday's gazette notification limited zero-charge protection to payments up to Rs 2,000 after parliament amended section 10A of the Payment and Settlement Systems Act, 2007, ending a zero-MDR regime in place since January 2020.

Compiled by The EngineerSomething wrong?How this is made

Why it matters

  • cost The charge lands on the 4% of transactions that carry 67% of the value. The sellers with the largest baskets absorb the most of it, with no route to recover it at the till.
  • decision Subscription and billing teams now have a rate attached to rail choice, because an AutoPay mandate collects at zero where the same amount taken as a one-off above Rs 2,000 pays 0.4%.
  • constraint A small seller's zero-MDR status is now conditional on a Rs 1 lakh monthly QR ceiling, so merchant systems have to track a rolling counter that can reclassify an account into a charged tier.
  • exposure Acquirers and aggregators have to quote merchant pricing before knowing what share of the 0.4% they keep.

Anyone writing the fee model needs four inputs: the ticket size, the merchant category, the merchant's classification, and the funding instrument. The 0.4% applies to the whole ticket. NPCI's examples put Rs 12 on a Rs 3,000 payment and Rs 200 on a Rs 50,000 one [4]. A basket that crosses the line by one rupee costs the seller about Rs 8 [1].

NPCI said in a statement that "For transactions of Rs 75,000 and above, the MDR will be capped at Rs 300 per transaction" [2]. That cap is exactly 0.4% of Rs 75,000. The rate is flat up to that point and declines above it: at Rs 2 lakh the effective rate is 0.15% [2]. UPI processed 2,451 crore transactions worth Rs 29.9 lakh crore in August [21], an average of roughly Rs 1,220 per transaction across all traffic, person-to-person transfers included [7].

Category is where the spread is widest. Railways, telecom, insurance, fuel and public utility payments above Rs 2,000 are charged a flat Rs 5 [7]. A Rs 50,000 fuel payment costs Rs 5 where the same value through an ordinary merchant costs Rs 200, a factor of 40 [3]. Capital market payments to mutual funds, stockbrokers and investment platforms carry 0.02% capped at Rs 300, and that cap does not bind until Rs 15 lakh [8][4].

Recurring collections through UPI AutoPay stay exempt [10]. On a Rs 5,000 monthly subscription that is the difference between nothing and Rs 20 a month, Rs 240 a year per subscriber [5]. Mandate setup is the harder integration, and collecting the same money as a one-off now costs 0.4% of it.

The small-merchant carve-out depends on a rolling monthly total. P2PM merchants keep zero MDR above Rs 2,000 while QR-based UPI payments made directly to their accounts stay within Rs 1 lakh a month. Crossing that for three consecutive months moves them into the P2M category [11]. Onboarding and billing systems have to hold that counter, because the fee changes underneath an account whose integration never changed.

Bernstein estimated that 40 basis points applied to half of UPI merchant payments by value could generate a Rs 22,000 crore annual revenue pool by 2027-28 [18]. Jefferies puts above-threshold payments at about 4% of volume but 67% of value [20], and NPCI says more than 95% of merchant payment volume is Rs 2,000 or below [19]. Bernstein's billable base sits 17 percentage points of value below the eligible band [6], about the room the concessional categories and the exemptions occupy. For that pool to arrive, fuel, utilities and capital markets have to stay a modest share of above-threshold value, and large baskets have to keep landing on bank-account rails. RuPay credit cards and pre-sanctioned credit lines run under separate rules [6].

The revenue split is what acquirers and aggregators have to price against, and the FAQs do not disclose it [15]. ET reported on September 11 that one proposal gave 40% to the issuing bank, 30% to the consumer-side app and 30% to the acquiring side, or 16, 12 and 12 basis points [15]. Under that proposal, aggregators such as Razorpay and Cashfree would negotiate a share of the acquiring-side portion with acquiring banks [16]. Bernstein said app-bank splits would likely be negotiated commercially [17].

What to watch

  • NPCI's fund for tier 3 to tier 6 geographies, the northeast, Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh is to be finalised with the Reserve Bank of India within three months, and the allocation was not disclosed.
  • NPCI has said education payments above Rs 2,000 will be flat or capped but has not specified the rates.
Loading claim ledger
Loading source directory links
Loading share composer
Loading topic controls
Loading related stories