Product1 publisher2 min readPublished
Cabot spends $125M on conductive carbon at two plants it already runs
A $50 million Department of Energy award moved off a Michigan project and onto brownfield expansions in Franklin, Louisiana and Pampa, Texas, where Cabot is adding about $75 million of its own for a 2028 start.
The Product Desk · Product desk

What happened
- Cabot Corporation is putting $125 million into expanding advanced battery material production, combining a $50 million Department of Energy grant with about $75 million of the company's own money.
- The work goes into plants Cabot already operates: Franklin, Louisiana, where it will expand LITX conductive carbons, and Pampa, Texas, where it will set up carbon nanostructure production instead of building new sites.
- The DOE money originally supported a Cabot project in Michigan, and the modified grant redirects that funding to the two-site brownfield expansion in Louisiana and Texas.
- Both projects are expected to be operational by the end of 2028, aimed at demand from energy storage, grid modernization, electrification and power-hungry AI infrastructure and data centers.
Compiled by The Product DeskSomething wrong?How this is made
Why it matters
- decision A team specifying cells for 2028 delivery now has a named domestic additive source and a schedule to hold suppliers to. The qualification conversation moves down the bill of materials to the additive grade inside the electrode.
- exposure A federal battery award changed states by amendment, so anyone tracking where DOE-funded plants will sit cannot treat the original award announcement as the final map.
- constraint Cabot has not disclosed capacity or tonnage, so nobody outside the company can size the new supply against the demand Cabot names.
- capability A commercial-scale CNS line in Texas would let North American cell makers specify Cabot's more advanced additive class from a domestic plant. Pampa is not producing CNS yet.
The product is a powder. Conductive additives go into battery electrodes to help create pathways for electrical current, and the better conductivity lets a cell make more effective use of the active material already in it [10].
Cabot's own money is the bigger share: 75 of the 125 million dollars, against 50 from the grant, which puts the federal contribution at 40 percent of the announced total [15]. Sean Keohane, Cabot's president and chief executive officer, said that "by leveraging our existing manufacturing assets, we can efficiently expand our battery materials platform, strengthen our position in the North American battery ecosystem, and support our customers' growth with localized supply" [11][18].
Cabot did not disclose a capacity figure for either plant, or a tonnage for LITX or CNS [17]. The idea that conductive carbon supply, and not cells, is what will gate grid storage and data center backup in 2028 cannot be tested without those numbers.
The split is between a proven material and a new one. Franklin expands LITX, battery-grade conductive carbon of a kind Cabot already supplies to battery manufacturers around the world [4][13]. Pampa is the unproven half. Cabot says it will be the first commercial-scale production of carbon nanostructures, part of the ENERMAX family and a more advanced class of additive in the company's portfolio [5][6].
For anyone buying storage that has to energize in 2028, what sorts an input like this is whether substituting it forces re-qualification of the finished cell, and whether a qualified version of it can be bought from more than one plant today. Cabot's date is the end of 2028 [7].
Keohane said the investments "reinforce our commitment to the North American battery market and position us to be a reliable, long-term supplier as our customers scale production" [12]. Cabot expects the projects to support manufacturing and construction jobs and to create additional capacity for customers operating in the North American battery supply chain [14].
What to watch
- Whether Cabot discloses capacity or tonnage for the Pampa CNS line or the Franklin LITX expansion before either starts up.
- Whether DOE modifies other battery-materials awards the same way, moving committed money to brownfield sites in different states.
- Whether any named cell or storage customer commits to ENERMAX CNS volumes from Pampa ahead of the end-2028 date.